Links

Some sites that I enjoy. (Maybe you will too.)

Art Sites:

International Association of Astronomical Artists – http://www.iaaa.org/

Dr. Mark A. Garlick – http://www.markgarlick.com/ and http://www.space-art.co.uk/
In my opinion, one of the best astronomical artists out there.

Astronomy Picture of the Day – http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/
Worth checking out for some fantastic pictures from outer space. The inspirations for many a painting have come from this site.

Minnesota Artists – http://www.mnartists.org/

Linda Clayton – http://www.lindaclaytonart.com/
A Minnesota artist exploring expressionist and impressionist painting in some exciting new ways.

Writing and Author Sites:

Michael Merriam – http://www.michaelmerriam.net/
A prolific Minnesota author whose tales range from short stories to novels. His books will take you through rollicking steampunk adventures, edgy urban fantasies, and haunting romances.

Abra Staffin-Weibe – http://www.aswiebe.com/
Minnesota author who specializes in dark fiction.  I highly recommend her steampunk serial-turned-novel, Circus of Brass and Bone

Edward Cox, Storyteller – http://edward-cox.tumblr.com/
He was not only my editor for all three of my Spell Keeper books, he is an excellent author of fantasy novels and a darn good bloke.

Rob Callahan – http://www.robcallahan.net/
Minnesota author, journalist, emcee, spoken word performer, and ironic comedian – this man does almost everything. And he does it well.

Kelly McCullough – https://kellymccullough.com/
One of the most prolific authors out there, Kelly’s entertaining fantasy and cyber-hacking stories span almost all age ranges.

Steven Brust – http://dreamcafe.com/
Bestselling Minnesota author of the popular Vlad Taltos series (and many other action-filled books).

Ralan’s Website – http://www.ralan.com/
A very handy website for writers, Ralan’s has market information and some very useful links

Minnesota Speculative Fiction Writers – http://scifiwriting.meetup.com/2/about/
A Minnesota writers group specializing in science fiction, fantasy and horror. A great place to meet fellow local authors and attend some interesting monthly discussions and panels.

Costuming Sites:

American Duchess – http://www.american-duchess.com/ and http://blog.americanduchess.com/
I discovered this incredible site while researching 18th century costumes for my “Revolutionary Super Friends” project. The first link is their store where you can find historical reproduction footwear from a variety of time periods. The second link is their blog, filled with tutorials and other amazing resources for anyone interested in historical costuming.

Frock Flicks – http://www.frockflicks.com/
An entertaining look at costuming in period movies through the lens of historical accuracy. They might get snarky at times, but it is always clever and informative!

Costuming Diary, Artemisia Moltabocca – http://www.costumingdiary.com/
A talented costumer whose site not only offers a look at her amazing creations, but also tutorials (for everything from wigs to setting up a sewing space) and links to some useful costume resources.

Other Fun Sites:

David Byrne – http://www.davidbyrne.com/
For those of you who are Talking Heads fans, this name will be familiar to you. Regardless, Mr. Byrne’s artwork, music, and online journal are worth checking out – he is one of the most intelligent and creative people I have ever idolized.

Minnesota Renaissance Festival – http://www.renaissancefest.com/
The place where I spend seven weekends of my year playing a jester on stilts named Tallia the Foolish.

The Court Revelers – http://www.courtrevelers.com/
A wonderful group I used to sing with out at the Renaissance Festival. They can go from lovely madrigals to raucous bar songs with ease!